Olympic SportsWoman of the Year – Paige Railey
Olympic SportsMan of the Year – Zach Railey
Olympic Team of the Year – Anna Tunnicliffe, Molly Vandemoer and Debbie Capozzi
Paralympic SportsMan of the Year – John Ruf

Portsmouth, R.I. (December 21, 2010) – US SAILING has chosen nine US Sailing Team AlphaGraphics (USSTAG) members as the sport’s 2010 SportsWoman, SportsMan and Team of the Year, in both Olympic and Paralympic classes, for outstanding on-the-water performance, achievement and sportsmanship. US SAILING’s Olympic Sailing Committee (OSC) has named Laser Radial sailor Paige Railey (Clearwater, Fla.) and Finn sailor Zach Railey (Clearwater, Fla.) SportsWoman and SportsMan of the Year, respectively, and Elliott 6m/Women’s Match Racing team of Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, Fla.), Molly Vandemoer (Redwood City, Calif.) and Debbie Capozzi (Bayport, N.Y.) as the Team of the Year. In the Paralympic classes, the OSC has selected 2.4 mR sailor John Ruf (Pewaukee, Wis.) the SportsMan of the Year and the Sonar team of Rick Doer (Clifton, N.J.), Brad Kendell (Tampa, Fla.) and Hugh Freund (South Freeport, Me.) as the Team of the Year.

The OSC has nominated these exceptional sailors to the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) for consideration for the 2010 SportsMan, SportsWoman and Team of the Year awards across all Olympic and Paralympic sports. Each sport’s national governing body selects their outstanding athletes for consideration for this prestigious national distinction. The overall winners will be announced in January 2011.

For full article click here boathistoryreport.com/news6

Boating news highlight courtesy of Boat History Report.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s